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Zero-Based Regulation 
Prospective Analysis 

Fill out entire form to the best of your ability, unless submitting a Notice to  
Negotiate only fill out 1, 2, and 5 

 

Agency Name: Idaho Department of Lands 

Rule Docket Number: 20-0317-2201 

1. What is the specific legal authority for this proposed rule? 

Statute Section (include direct link) Is the authority 
mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Idaho Code § 58-104(6) – State Land Board – Powers and Duties Discretionary 
Idaho Code Title 58 Chapter 3 – Appraisement, Lease, and Sale of Lands Discretionary 
Idaho Code Title 58 Chapter 12 – Public Trust Doctrine Discretionary 

2. Define the specific problem that the proposed rule is attempting to solve? Can the 
problem be addressed by non-regulatory measures? 

Upon statehood, Idaho obtained title to the beds of navigable lakes and rivers to hold in trust for the 
benefit of the public. IDAPA 20.03.17 establishes a consistent process to compensate the state of 
Idaho for specific commercial and private uses of state-owned navigable waterways. These uses 
typically include marinas, community docks, non-navigational encroachments, and oversized private 
docks, which occupy the state's lakes. The proposed changes seek to comply with Executive Order 
2020-01, simplify the application process, and adjust the fees so they cover the cost of processing 
lease applications and assignments.  

3. How have other jurisdictions approached the problem this proposed rule intends to 
address? 

a. Is this proposed rule related to any existing federal law? No. 

Federal 
citation 

Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed 
Idaho rule more 
stringent? (if 
applicable) 

None None  

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title58/T58CH1/SECT58-104/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title58/T58CH3/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title58/T58CH12/
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b. How does this proposed rule compare to other state laws? 

State Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed 
Idaho rule more 
stringent? (if applicable) 

Washington https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=79.105 
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=79.125 
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=79.130  
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=332-30 
Application fee is $25. Rental rates are generally related to land 
values. Non-water dependent uses have higher rents than water 
dependent uses. Late charge of 1% per month on past due 
accounts. Term is up to 55 years for some uses. Insurance and 
bonding may be required. Appraisals are done by the 
Department as needed. 

Application fees are higher. 
Lease term is shorter. 

Oregon https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?
selectedDivision=347  
Application fee is $750. Bidding for a lease may be required. 
Annual rent is one of three options: Flat Rate by square feet; % 
of the riparian land value; or % of moorage gross receipts. Rent 
formulas vary by type of use. Minimum annual rent is $470 
(2022). Lease term varies based on project financing and 
Department analysis with a maximum of 15 years. Bonding may 
be required. Appraisals may be done by applicant or 
Department, and applicant may have to pay for the appraisal. 
Assignment fee is $750. 

Lease term may be shorter. 

Nevada https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-322.html#NRS322Sec060  
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-322.html 
Application fee for commercial use is $500, agricultural use is 
$300, and other uses is $250. Rent varies by use from $250 up to 
$1,500. Most permit terms are ten years. Insurance is required. 

Annual rent may be higher 
for some uses 

Utah https://rules.utah.gov/publications/utah-adm-code/#/NaturalRe 
Search for Natural Resources and R652-30 and R652-70 
Application fee is $300. Rental rates must be fair market value 
determined based on value of the property or annual income. 
Minimum annual rent is $450. Most leases have terms from 20 
to 51 years. Bonding may be required. Assignment fee is $50. 

Application and assignment 
fees are higher. Lease term 
is shorter. 

Wyoming https://drive.google.com/file/d/1NBCnY9762VPZdhao5jJDt2vwF
3dm1JWu/view 
Application fee is $250. Annual rent is based on fair market 
value, with a minimum of $250 or 5.5% of land value. Late fee is 
10% of annual rent. Lease term is up to 75 years. Bonding may 
be required. Appraisals are done by the Department as needed. 
Assignment fee is $40. 

Application and assignment 
fees are higher. Lease term 
is shorter. 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=79.105
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=79.125
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=79.130
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=332-30
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=347
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=347
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-322.html#NRS322Sec060
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-322.html
https://rules.utah.gov/publications/utah-adm-code/#/NaturalRe
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1NBCnY9762VPZdhao5jJDt2vwF3dm1JWu/view
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1NBCnY9762VPZdhao5jJDt2vwF3dm1JWu/view
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Montana https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0770/chapter_0010/part_009
0/sections_index.html  
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0770/chapter_0010/part_011
0/sections_index.html  
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=36.25.915 
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/Subchapterhome.asp?scn=36%2E
25.11 
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=36%2E2%2E1003  
Application fee is $50. Annual rent is based on full market value, 
or as determined by the Board, with a minimum of $150. Lease 
term is up to 99 years. Bonding may be required. Assignment 
fee is $50. 

Application fees are higher. 
Lease term is shorter. 

Alaska http://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#38.05.010   
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#11.58  
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#11.62 
Application fees are $1,200 for 1 acre or less, $2,000 for larger 
leases that are processed in 100 hours or less, and additional 
fees are due for time spent over 100 hours. Bidding for a lease 
may be required. Rent varies by use but must be market value, 
and minimum rent is $500. Lease term is 10 to 55 years. Bonding 
is required. Appraisal and surveying costs may be collected from 
an applicant. Assignment fee is $600, and more is due if over 30 
hours are needed for processing. 

Lease term may be shorter. 

South 
Dakota 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2034116  
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2034073  
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/293 
Commissioner sets rental rates based on location, access, utility 
of land, and current rental rates. Bidding for a lease may be 
required. Term is up to 99 years. Assignment fee is $250. 

Lease term is shorter. 

c. If the Idaho proposed rule has a more stringent requirement than the federal 
government or the reviewed states, describe the evidence base or unique 
circumstances that justifies the enhanced requirement: 

The proposed lease application fee of $425 and assignment fee of $200 for Idaho is higher 
than similar fees charged in a few of the other states. Funding for Idaho’s Navigable 
Waterways Program, however, is from a dedicated account. The proposed lease fees are 
needed to cover the costs of processing these lease transactions. 

The proposed lease term of 10 years is shorter than many of the other states. The lease 
term in many of those states is not fixed and is subject to the state agency’s determination. 
Having a set term of 10 years allows more certainty for lessees and has not been observed 
to hinder any development on Idaho’s navigable waterways. The 10-year term also requires 
the Department to review lease rates more frequently than a longer lease term would. This 
prevents lease rates from falling too far behind the market rate. 
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Rental rates in Idaho may be higher than those in Nevada due to the hard rental rate limits 
in the Nevada regulations. Most states, like Idaho, charge rent based on market values, 
lessee income, or other factors that allow for a more robust revenue stream to the state. 

4. What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem? 

In general, the existing rules have served well for almost 30 years to provide a predictable and stable 
process for capturing revenue from specific commercial and private uses of the state-owned 
navigable waterways. For the application and assignment fees, a workload analysis was used to 
estimate the time and cost of reviewing and processing leases. Based on that analysis, $425 is an 
appropriate application fee and $200 is an appropriate assignment fee.  

Late payment requirements are much clearer and better aligned with current practices of the 
Department. Payment extensions have not been requested by lessees for many years, so their 
removal is not expected to impact any lessees.  

The Department no longer has appraisers available for this program and appraisals for leases have 
not been needed for many years, so the appraisal changes greatly simplify this process. 

5. What is the anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders? Include, 
how will you involve them in the negotiated rulemaking process? 

Category Potential Impact 
Fiscal impact to the state 
General Fund, any dedicated 
fund, or federal fund 

This lease program is funded by the Navigable Waterways Fund, a state 
dedicated fund. Increased fees will result in an estimated annual increase 
of $8,200 and allow IDL to cover the costs of processing submerged land 
leases. Current lease holders will not be affected, but applicants for new 
leases will pay an increased fee. No fiscal impact to the General Fund is 
anticipated. Impacts to state funds are expected to be diminutive. A notice 
of rulemaking will be sent to the one state agency that has an active 
submerged land lease.   

Impact to Idaho businesses, 
with special consideration for 
small businesses 

This lease program is funded by the Navigable Waterways Fund, a state 
dedicated fund. Increased fees will result in an estimated annual increase 
of $8,200 and allow IDL to cover the costs of processing submerged land 
leases. Current lease holders will not be affected. Applicants for new 
leases will pay an increased fee. Most leases are issued for community 
docks, commercial marinas and various non-navigational encroachments 
for a term of ten years. Because an application fee is only paid once every 
ten years, this is expected to have minimal fiscal impact to applicants.  
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Category Potential Impact 
Impact to any local government 
in Idaho 

This lease program is funded by the Navigable Waterways Fund, a state 
dedicated fund. Increased fees will result in an estimated annual increase 
of $8,200 and allow IDL to cover the costs of processing submerged land 
leases. Current lease holders will not be affected. Applicants for new 
leases will pay an increased fee once every ten years when the lease 
expires. One lease is currently issued to a local government agency, so 
impact to this agency would be minimal. A notice of rulemaking will be 
sent to the local government agency that has an active submerged land 
lease. 

6. What cumulative regulatory volume does this proposed rule add? 

Category Impact 
Net change in word count Reduced by 664 words (-17%) 

Net change in restrictive word count Reduced by 8 words (-23%) 
 


