Zero-Based Regulation Prospective Analysis

Fill out entire form to the best of your ability, unless submitting a Notice to Negotiate only fill out 1, 2, and 5

Agency Name: Idaho Department of Lands (IDL)

Rule Docket Number: 20-0214-2201

1. What is the specific legal authority for this proposed rule?

Statute Section (include direct link)	Is the authority mandatory or
	discretionary?
Public Lands – Department of Lands: Section 58-104(6), Idaho Code – State	Discretionary
Land Board – Powers and Duties	
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title58/T58CH1/SECT58-	
<u>104/</u>	
Public Lands – Department of Lands: Section 58-105, Idaho Code – Director	Discretionary
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title58/T58CH1/SECT58-	
<u>105/</u>	
Idaho Code Title 58 Chapter 4 – Sale of Timber on State Lands	Discretionary
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title58/T58CH4/	

2. Define the specific problem that the proposed rule is attempting to solve? Can the problem be addressed by non-regulatory measures?

This rule governs the selling of forest products from state endowment lands and sets minimum requirements for timber sale auctions, initial deposits and bonding, stumpage and interest payment, and timber sale cancellation and termination. The proposed changes seek to comply with Executive Order 2020-01, reduce the total word count, and reduce the number of repetitive statements in the new chapter.

3. How have other jurisdictions approached the problem this proposed rule intends to address?

Federal citation	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
None	N/A	N/A

a. Is this proposed rule related to any existing federal law?

b. How does this proposed rule compare to other state laws?

State	Summary of Law (include direct link)	How is the proposed Idaho rule more stringent? (if applicable)
Washington	Washington DNR sells timber using lump sum sales and scale sales. Lump sum sales are due at the day of the sale. Scale sales require bonding (25%). Various types of bonding are acceptable with these sales. Extensions may be granted with a fee based on estimated loss of income plus interest on the unpaid portion of the contract. Sales are sold a public auction or sealed bid. Bid deposits are required. Sales must be confirmed within 10 days of the auction. Washington DNR offers direct sales, firewood, and personal use permits as well. <u>Chapter 79.11 RCW: STATE LAND SALES (wa.gov)</u>	It is not. Idaho has less stringent rules.
Oregon	Sales exceeding \$25,000 in value shall be sold using competitive bidding. This can be either public oral auction or sealed bid. Eligible bidders must complete a Certification of Eligibility to Bid and cannot be in default from a federal, state, or local sales dating 3 years prior. Bid security is 10% of the appraised value and bids security can be cash, money order, surety bond, etc. They require performance bonds (20% minimum), and payment bonds during harvesting. <u>https://oregon.public.law/rules/oar_chapter_629</u> <u>division_29</u>	It is not. Idaho has less stringent rules.

Nevada is allowed to sell timber that is not	It is not. Idaho is different in the
	fact that we have a robust
-	timber industry. They manage
	private landowners.
	It is not. Idaho has less stringent
	rules.
-	
newspapers, and that cost will be borne by the	
successful applicant. The top three sealed bids are	
invited to the oral auction. After the contract is	
awarded, the purchaser must complete a harvest	
plan approved by the agency. They also must	
apply a performance bond in the amount of at	
least twice the cost of rehabilitation. Payment	
bonds are for the total sale price. Extensions are	
subject to increase bonds and contract prices.	
Long term agreements are sales lasting from two	
to ten years.	
http://utrules.elaws.us/uac/r850-70	
The state forester drafts an annual work plan for	It is not. IDL has different price
the director. There are three types of sales:	thresholds for bonding, but we
personal use, permit, and bid sales. Sales not	do not require prepayment to
initiated by the director require an application that	begin harvesting.
has a nonrefundable fee. Bid guarantees must be	
a minimum of \$500. The fee is applied to the	
payment. The successful bidder has 90 days to	
sign the contract. Performance bonds are 10% or	
\$500 whichever is greater. Extension requests	
	1
https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?mode=1# -	
-	invited to the oral auction. After the contract is awarded, the purchaser must complete a harvest plan approved by the agency. They also must apply a performance bond in the amount of at least twice the cost of rehabilitation. Payment bonds are for the total sale price. Extensions are subject to increase bonds and contract prices. Long term agreements are sales lasting from two to ten years. <u>http://utrules.elaws.us/uac/r850-70</u> The state forester drafts an annual work plan for the director. There are three types of sales: personal use, permit, and bid sales. Sales not initiated by the director require an application that has a nonrefundable fee. Bid guarantees must be a minimum of \$500. The fee is applied to the payment. The successful bidder has 90 days to sign the contract. Performance bonds are 10% or

Montana	Montana DNRC's rules over their trust lands are	It is not. Montana uses rule to
	detailed in the way they manage their lands.	describe management of roads,
	Environmental assessments are subject to timber	silviculture, and biodiversity.
	sales without categorical exclusions. Montana	Idaho uses policy and procedure
	uses rule to describe management of roads,	to handle such situations.
	silviculture, and biodiversity. Idaho uses policy	
	and procedure to handle such management.	
	Montana DNRC can sell up to 500,000 board feet	
	of commercial timber without advertisement or	
	Board approval. The sale of timber and applicable	
	bonding, etc. is covered in Montana Code.	
	Subchapter Home: - Administrative Rules of the	
	State of Montana (mt.gov)	
Alaska	Alaska sells timber four different ways.	It is not. Idaho has less stringent
	Sealed/oral bids and three types of negotiated	rules.
	sales depending on socio-economic factors. Their	
	stumpage sales are similar in nature to IDL's. They	
	use the rules to layout how to appraise timber,	
	contractual document, rights of way, along with	
	the bonding requirements.	
	http://forestry.alaska.gov/Assets/pdfs/timber/201	
	<u>3 For mgmt stat and reg TEXT UPDATE.pdf</u>	
South	N/A	N/A
Dakota		

c. If the Idaho proposed rule has a more stringent requirement than the federal government or the reviewed states, describe the evidence base or unique circumstances that justifies the enhanced requirement:

N/A

4. What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

The rule text reduced the total word count and restrictive statements. The proposed rule remains to be less restrictive.

5. What is the anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders? Include, how will you involve them in the negotiated rulemaking process?

Category	Potential Impact
Fiscal impact to the state General Fund, any dedicated fund, or federal fund	No impact. The rule is already in place and its administration is funded from earnings reserve.

Category	Potential Impact
Impact to Idaho businesses, with special consideration for small businesses	The proposed changes will make the rule easier to understand by reducing the word count and repetitive statements. The rule will be reviewed with stakeholders to ensure it provides clarity to our processes.
Impact to any local government in Idaho	No impact is anticipated to local government in Idaho. The rule is in place, and the reduction of total word count and repetitive statements will not change the intent of the rule.

6. What cumulative regulatory volume does this proposed rule add?

Category	Impact
Net change in word count	Reduced by 294 words (-19%)
Net change in restrictive word count	Reduced by 1 word (-11%)