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Zero-Based Regulation 
Prospective Analysis 

 

Agency Name: Idaho Department of Lands 

Rule Docket Number: 20-0301-2301 

IDAPA 20.03.01, Rules Governing Dredge and Placer Mining Operations in Idaho 

1. What is the specific legal authority for this proposed rule? 

Statute Section (include direct link) Is the authority mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Idaho Code Title 47, Chapter 13 – Dredge Mining Mandatory 
Idaho Code § 58-104(6) – State Land Board – Powers and Duties Discretionary 
Idaho Code § 58-105 – Director Discretionary 

2. Define the specific problem that the proposed rule is attempting to solve? Can the 
problem be addressed by non-regulatory measures? 

IDAPA 20.03.01 provides consistent and specific guidance on how a dredge and placer mining permit 
can be applied for, reviewed, approved, and administered. The proposed changes seek to comply 
with Executive Order 2020-01, simplify and consolidate requirements, and adjust the inspection fees 
so they cover the cost of inspections. 

3. How have other jurisdictions approached the problem this proposed rule intends to 
address? 

a. Is this proposed rule related to any existing federal law? 

Federal 
citation 

Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed Idaho rule 
more stringent? (if applicable) 

36 CFR 228 https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-36/chapter-II/part-
228  
No application fees or annual fees are charged for a 
Plan of Operations, but annual fees of $165 are 
charged for each 20-acre mining claim. Bonding is 
actual cost. Exploration is bonded. Surety companies 
must be listed in Circular 570 of the U.S. Department 
of Treasury. Operations must control erosion in a 
manner appropriate to the site-specific and regional 
conditions, but no minimum standards exist for 
culverts.  Revegetation must result in cover similar to 
adjacent unmined areas. 
 

Application fees are $50 to $1,000. 
Annual fees are $435. If bonding is 
insufficient, then additional funds 
may be recovered from the operator 
after a default. Operations must be 
designed for 20-year storm events. 
Minimum culvert size is 18 inches. 

https://legislature.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/statutesrules/idstat/Title47/T47CH13.pdf
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title58/T58CH1/SECT58-104/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title58/T58CH1/SECT58-105/
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-36/chapter-II/part-228
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-36/chapter-II/part-228
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43 CFR 3809 https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-43/subtitle-
B/chapter-II/subchapter-C/part-3800/subpart-3809  
No application fees or annual fees are charged for a 
Plan of Operations, but annual fees of $165 are 
charged for each 20-acre mining claim. Bonding is 
actual cost with ability to recover additional funds if 
needed. Exploration is bonded. Surety companies 
must be listed in Circular 570 of the U.S. Department 
of Treasury. Plans must be designed for 25-year storm 
events, and minimum culvert size is 18 inches. 
Revegetation must result in cover similar to adjacent 
unmined areas. 

Application fees are $50 to $1,000. 
Annual fees are $435. If bonding is 
insufficient, then additional funds 
may be recovered from the operator 
after a default.  

b. How does this proposed rule compare to other state laws? 

State Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed 
Idaho rule more 
stringent? (if applicable) 

Washington https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=78.44  
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=332-18 
Application fee for operations over 3 acres is $4,500, and annual 
fee is $2,000. Bonding is actual cost with ability to recover 
additional funds if needed. Exploration is not bonded. Any 
surety company may be used. Plans must be designed for 25-
year storm events, but no other minimum standards for 
culverts. Revegetation must be suitable for the post-mining land 
use. 
 

Operations from ½ acre to 3 
acres must pay an 
application fee of $50. 
Surety companies must be 
listed in Circular 570 of the 
U.S. Department of Treasury. 
Minimum culvert size is 18 
inches. 

Oregon https://oregon.public.law/rules/oar_chapter_632  
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/ 
bills_laws/ors/ors468b.html  
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/ 
bills_laws/archive/2001ors517.pdf  
https://www.oregongeology.org/mlrr/forms/sufacemining/517_ 
FeeSchedule_20230206.pdf  
Application fee is $400 to $2,000, and annual fee is $165 to 
$1,460 plus $0.0125/ton. Bonding is actual cost with no ability 
to recover additional funds to complete reclamation. 
Exploration is not bonded. Any surety company may be used. 
Plans must be designed for 100-year storm events, but no other 
minimum standards for culverts. Revegetation must result in 
cover similar to adjacent unmined areas. 

Annual fees for smaller 
operations are higher. If 
bonding is insufficient, then 
additional funds may be 
recovered from the operator 
after a default. Surety 
companies must be listed in 
Circular 570 of the U.S. 
Department of Treasury. 
Minimum culvert size is 18 
inches. 
 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-43/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-C/part-3800/subpart-3809
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-43/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-C/part-3800/subpart-3809
https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=78.44
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=332-18
https://oregon.public.law/rules/oar_chapter_632
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/%20bills_laws/ors/ors468b.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/%20bills_laws/ors/ors468b.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/%20bills_laws/archive/2001ors517.pdf
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/%20bills_laws/archive/2001ors517.pdf
https://www.oregongeology.org/mlrr/forms/sufacemining/517_%20FeeSchedule_20230206.pdf
https://www.oregongeology.org/mlrr/forms/sufacemining/517_%20FeeSchedule_20230206.pdf
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Nevada https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/nac-445a.html  
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-519a.html  
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-519a.html  
https://ndep.nv.gov/uploads/documents/20201002_ 
WPC_Permit_FeeSched_ADA.pdf  
https://ndep.nv.gov/uploads/land-mining-regs-
docs/20201009_WhenA_WPCP_IsRequired_ADA.pdf  
Application fees for mining operations and exploration are 
$1.50/acre of public land and $2.50/acre of private land. 
Operations over 5 acres are also charged $200. Annual fees are 
$100 to $16,000. Bonding is actual cost with no ability to 
recover additional funds to complete reclamation. Exploration is 
also bonded. Surety companies must have a superior financial 
strength rating and superior credit rating from a nationally 
recognized insurance rating service. Mining plans must be 
designed for the annual precipitation and may require 
preparation by an engineer, but no other minimum standards 
for design or culverts. Revegetation must be suitable for the 
post-mining land use. Placer operations also must obtain a 
Water Pollution Control Permit, which require a $200 
application and annual fee. Operations must be designed for 
100-year storm events. No other minimum standards for 
culverts. 

Annual fees for smaller 
operations are higher. If 
bonding is insufficient, then 
additional funds may be 
recovered from the operator 
after a default. Minimum 
culvert size is 18 inches. 

Utah https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title40/Chapter8/40-8.html  
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_ 
Related/Information/r647-1.pdf  
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_ 
Related/Information/R647-2.pdf  
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_ 
Related/Information/r647-3.pdf  
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_ 
Related/Information/r647-4.pdf  
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_ 
Related/Information/R647-5.pdf  
Application fee is $150 to $1,000, and annual fee is $150 to 
$1,000. Bonding is actual cost with no ability to recover 
additional funds to complete reclamation. Exploration is also 
bonded. Surety companies must be listed in Circular 570 of the 
U.S. Department of Treasury. Operations must control erosion in 
a manner appropriate to the site-specific and regional 
conditions, but no minimum standards exist for culverts. 
Revegetation must achieve 70% cover. 

Annual fees for smaller 
operations are higher. If 
bonding is insufficient, then 
additional funds may be 
recovered from the operator 
after a default. Operations 
must be designed for 20-
year storm events. Minimum 
culvert size is 18 inches. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/nac-445a.html
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-519a.html
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-519a.html
https://ndep.nv.gov/uploads/documents/20201002_%20WPC_Permit_FeeSched_ADA.pdf
https://ndep.nv.gov/uploads/documents/20201002_%20WPC_Permit_FeeSched_ADA.pdf
https://ndep.nv.gov/uploads/land-mining-regs-docs/20201009_WhenA_WPCP_IsRequired_ADA.pdf
https://ndep.nv.gov/uploads/land-mining-regs-docs/20201009_WhenA_WPCP_IsRequired_ADA.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title40/Chapter8/40-8.html
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_%20Related/Information/r647-1.pdf
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_%20Related/Information/r647-1.pdf
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_%20Related/Information/R647-2.pdf
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_%20Related/Information/R647-2.pdf
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_%20Related/Information/r647-3.pdf
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_%20Related/Information/r647-3.pdf
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_%20Related/Information/r647-4.pdf
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_%20Related/Information/r647-4.pdf
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_%20Related/Information/R647-5.pdf
https://fs.ogm.utah.gov/PUB/MINES/Minerals_%20Related/Information/R647-5.pdf
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Wyoming https://wyoleg.gov/statutes/compress/title35.pdf  
https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?mode=1  
Exploration application fees are $25 with an annual fee of $25. 
Operations larger than 15 acres have an application fee of $100 
or $200 plus $10/acre with $2,000 maximum. No annual fee for 
operations. Bonding is actual cost with no ability to recover 
additional funds to complete reclamation. Exploration is also 
bonded. Any surety company may be used. Plans for temporary 
impacts must be designed for 2-year storm events and 
permanent facilities must be designed for the 100-year event, 
but no other minimum standards for culverts. Revegetation 
must be suitable for the post-mining land use. 

Operations up to 15 acres 
will pay application fees of 
$50/10-acre tract. Annual 
fees of $435 are required. If 
bonding is insufficient, then 
additional funds may be 
recovered from the operator 
after a default. Surety 
companies must be listed in 
Circular 570 of the U.S. 
Department of Treasury. 
Minimum culvert size is 18 
inches. 

Montana https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0820/ 
chapter_0040/part_0040/sections_index.html  
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ChapterHome.asp? 
Chapter=17%2E24  
Exploration application fees are $100 with an annual fee of $25. 
Operations larger than 5 acres have an application fee of $500 
and an annual fee of $100. Bonding of Exploration is actual cost, 
and bonding for operations over 5 acres is actual cost. 
Operations under 5 acres are bonded for $10,000. If bonds are 
insufficient, agency can recover additional funds if needed. 
Surety companies must be listed in Circular 570 of the U.S. 
Department of Treasury. Plans must be designed for 10-year 
storm events, but no other minimum standards for culverts. 
Revegetation must be suitable for the post-mining land use. 

Operations up to 5 acres will 
pay application fees of $50, 
and fees can escalate up to 
$2,000. Annual fees of $435 
are required. All mining 
operations over ½ acre must 
be bonded. Operations must 
be designed for 20-year 
storm events. Minimum 
culvert size is 18 inches. 

Alaska https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#27  
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#11.97  
https://dnr.alaska.gov/mlw/pdf/DMLWFeeOrder3-v2.pdf  
Exploration application fees are $1,000. Operations larger than 
5 acres have an application fee of $400 for 20 hours of staff 
time. No annual fees are charged. Bonding for operations larger 
than 5 acres is $750/acre. If bonds are insufficient, agency can 
recover additional funds if needed. Any surety company licensed 
in Alaska may be used. Reestablished streams must be stable 
and erosion should be controlled, but no minimum standards 
exist for culverts. Revegetation must result in cover similar to 
adjacent unmined areas. 

Operations up to 5 acres will 
pay application fees of $50, 
and fees can escalate up to 
$2,000. Annual fees of $435 
are required. All mining 
operations over ½ acre must 
be bonded up to 
$1,800/acre. Surety 
companies must be listed in 
Circular 570 of the U.S. 
Department of Treasury. 
Operations must be 
designed for 20-year storm 
events. Minimum culvert 
size is 18 inches. 

https://wyoleg.gov/statutes/compress/title35.pdf
https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?mode=1
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0820/%20chapter_0040/part_0040/sections_index.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0820/%20chapter_0040/part_0040/sections_index.html
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?%20Chapter=17%2E24
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?%20Chapter=17%2E24
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#27
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#11.97
https://dnr.alaska.gov/mlw/pdf/DMLWFeeOrder3-v2.pdf
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South 
Dakota 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/45-6C 
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/45-6B 
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/45-6 
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/74:29 
Application fee for exploration is $250. Application fee for 
operations is $100 to $1,000, and annual fee is $50. Exploration 
requires a $20,000 bond. Operations under 10 acres require a 
$10,000 bond. Operations over 10 acres require an actual cost 
bond with no ability to recover additional funds to complete 
reclamation. Any surety company may be used. Ponds must be 
designed for a 100-year storm event, but no minimum standards 
exist for culverts. Revegetation must result in cover similar to 
adjacent unmined areas. 

Annual fees are higher. If 
bonding is insufficient, then 
additional funds may be 
recovered from the operator 
after a default. Surety 
companies must be listed in 
Circular 570 of the U.S. 
Department of Treasury. All 
operations must be designed 
for 20-year storm events. 
Minimum culvert size is 18 
inches. 

c. If the Idaho proposed rule has a more stringent requirement than the federal 
government or the reviewed states, describe the evidence base or unique 
circumstances that justifies the enhanced requirement: 

The application fees in Idaho are in the range of what other states are charging. Some states 
are a little lower especially for smaller operations, but several states are also much higher. 
While the federal agencies do not charge application fees, they do require operators to 
comply with the National Environmental Policy Act, which may result in the applicant paying 
for environmental studies and documentation. Application fees are set by statute in Idaho, 
and generally do not cover the cost of processing the applications.  

The annual inspection fee of $435 is in the range of what other states are charging. Some 
states charge less, but a few charge more. The Bureau of Land Management charges yearly 
fees on most federal mining claims, which can be similar to the proposed inspection fee. The 
proposed inspection fee is needed to cover the costs of these inspections. The statute also 
makes it clear that the purpose of the fee is to cover the cost of the inspection. 

Several states do not have the ability to recover additional funds from the operator after a 
default if the bond is insufficient. Idaho’s statute, however, limits the bond amount to 
$1,800 per acre which is insufficient to cover the full cost of reclamation. Some states allow 
any surety company to be used for bonding, but a few others and the federal agencies 
require surety companies to be listed in Circular 570 published by the U.S. Department of 
Treasury. This is a good practice to help ensure funds are available for reclamation. 

The 20-year design storm standard is in the range of what other states require from 
operators. A few states have no specific standards, others have a best practices type of 
standard, and a few states have specific standards that are more stringent. The standards 
used by the Idaho stream channel protection and forest practices rules are more stringent 
than the proposed standard. The Idaho Department of Lands is the primary regulatory 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/45-6C
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/45-6B
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/45-6
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/74:29
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authority for mining related stormwater practices, so having minimum standards ensures a 
fair and predictable regulatory framework.  

4. What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem? 

These rules have been effective in minimizing the impact of dredge and placer mining on 
water quality over the last 30 years or more. Responsible operators do not have difficulties 
complying with these rules. 

5. What is the anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders? Include, 
how will you involve them in the negotiated rulemaking process? 

Category Potential Impact 
Fiscal impact to the state General 
Fund, any dedicated fund, or 
federal fund 

Increased fees will result in an estimated annual increase of 
$6,600 to the dedicated Dredge and Placer Mining Account. 
No impact to the General Fund is anticipated. 

Impact to Idaho businesses, with 
special consideration for small 
businesses 

Increased fees will result in an estimated annual increase of 
$6,600 and will allow IDL to cover the costs of inspecting these 
mining operations. This will affect all current permittees, and 
future permittees. All current permittees will be notified of 
the negotiated rulemaking, and public meetings will be held 
around the state. 

Impact to any local government 
in Idaho 

No impact to local government is anticipated. 

6. What cumulative regulatory volume does this proposed rule add? 

Category Impact 
Net change in word count 26% Reduction 
Net change in restrictive word count 18% Reduction 

 


