Zero-Based Regulation
Prospective Analysis

Agency Name: Idaho Department of Lands
Rule Docket Number: 20-0501-2301

IDAPA 20.05.01, Rules Pertaining to the Recreational Use of Endowment Land

1. What is the specific legal authority for this proposed rule?

Statute Section (include direct link) Is the authority mandatory
or discretionary?

Idaho Code § 58-156 — Endowment Land — Closure, Restriction, Discretionary

Regulation, or Prohibition (Effective July 1, 2023)

Idaho Code § 58-104(6) — State Land Board — Powers and Duties Discretionary

Idaho Code 58-105 — Director Discretionary

2. Define the specific problem that the proposed rule is attempting to solve? Can the
problem be addressed by non-regulatory measures?

Aside from misdemeanor or felony criminal trespass charges, Idaho Code doesn’t provide for a less
severe remedy for those who inflect relatively minor damage to endowment land while recreating.
Allowing POST-certified Idaho law enforcement to issue warnings/citations for relatively minor
offenses will help disincentivize destructive behaviors on endowment land; rulemaking is required
under the new law before a warning or infraction ticket may be written.

3. How have other jurisdictions approached the problem this proposed rule intends to
address?

a. Is this proposed rule related to any existing federal law?

Federal Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed
citation Idaho rule more
stringent? (if applicable)
N/A N/A N/A
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https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title58/T58CH1/SECT58-156/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title58/T58CH1/SECT58-104/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title58/T58CH1/SECT58-105/

b. How does this proposed rule compare to other state laws?

Rule Docket No. 20-0501-2301

State Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the
proposed
Idaho rule
more
stringent?
(if
applicable)
Washington | Removing, defacing, damaging or destroying Washington DNR managed Idaho’s rule
land is chargeable as a misdemeanor. is less
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=332-52-110&pdf=true stringent as
it allows for
a warning or
$250
citation.
Oregon Oregon law authorizes civil penalties of up to $1,000 per day (ORS Idaho’s rule
273.994) for those violating rules relating to the damage of public land is less
(ORS 273.500) stringent as
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills laws/ors/ors273.html it allows for
a warning or
$250
citation.
Nevada Nevada provides for fines, misdemeanor or felony charges for damage to | Idaho’s rule
public property. is less
stringent as
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/NRS-331.htmI|#NRS331Sec200 it allows for
warnings to
be issued.
Utah Utah’s rules prohibit a comprehensive list of activities on endowment Idaho’s rule
trust land and provides for misdemeanor criminal mischief charges. is less
stringent as
https://trustlands.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/10/2022-10- it allows for
Agency-Rulebook-37th-Edition.pdft#fpage=33 a warning or
$250
citation.
Wyoming Wyoming law provides for misdemeanor charges for damage to Idaho’s rule
endowment trust land. is less
stringent as
https://law.justia.com/codes/wyoming/2011/title36/chapter2/section36- | it allows for
2-107 a warning or
$250
citation.
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https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=332-52-110&pdf=true
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors273.html
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/NRS-331.html#NRS331Sec200
https://trustlands.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/10/2022-10-Agency-Rulebook-37th-Edition.pdf#page=33
https://trustlands.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/10/2022-10-Agency-Rulebook-37th-Edition.pdf#page=33
https://law.justia.com/codes/wyoming/2011/title36/chapter2/section36-2-107
https://law.justia.com/codes/wyoming/2011/title36/chapter2/section36-2-107

Montana Montana’s rules restrict a comprehensive list of activities on endowment | Idaho’s rule
trust land, require recreational land users to purchase a license, and is less
provides for civil and misdemeanor charges. stringent as
http://archive-dnrc.mt.gov/divisions/trust/recreational-use-of-state- it allows for
land/rec-use-forms-and-permits/state-land-recreational-use- a warning or
rules#tpage=4 $250

citation.

Alaska Alaska rules include an extensive list of generally allowed uses for public Idaho’s rule
land that do not require a permit and provides for penalties ranging from | is less
civil actions to criminal trespass charges. stringent as

it allows for
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#11.96.020 a warning or

$250

citation.

South South Dakota provides for misdemeanor or felony charges for intentional | Idaho’s rule

Dakota damage to public property. is less
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/22-34 stringent as

it allows for
a warning or
$250
citation.

c. If the Idaho proposed rule has a more stringent requirement than the federal
government or the reviewed states, describe the evidence base or unique
circumstances that justifies the enhanced requirement:

N/A

4. What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem?

IDL has anecdotal evidence that while law enforcement officials are reluctant to bring heavy-handed
misdemeanor criminal trespass charges for actions that only mildly damage endowment land, they
would be willing to issue warnings or citations, if that option existed.

5. What is the anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders? Include,
how will you involve them in the negotiated rulemaking process?

Category Potential Impact

No impact to any dedicated fund or the General
Fund is anticipated.

Fiscal impact to the state General Fund,
any dedicated fund, or federal fund

Impact to Idaho businesses, with special
consideration for small businesses

No impacts to businesses are anticipated.

Impact to any local government in Idaho No impact to local government is anticipated.
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http://archive-dnrc.mt.gov/divisions/trust/recreational-use-of-state-land/rec-use-forms-and-permits/state-land-recreational-use-rules#page=4
http://archive-dnrc.mt.gov/divisions/trust/recreational-use-of-state-land/rec-use-forms-and-permits/state-land-recreational-use-rules#page=4
http://archive-dnrc.mt.gov/divisions/trust/recreational-use-of-state-land/rec-use-forms-and-permits/state-land-recreational-use-rules#page=4
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp#11.96.020
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/22-34

6. What cumulative regulatory volume does this proposed rule add?

Category Impact
This is a New Rule Chapter: No changes are shown.
Net change in word count Rule Text Pages: 2
Total Words: 598
Net change in restrictive word count Total Restrictive words: 11
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