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Zero-Based Regulation 
Prospective Analysis 

 

 

 

Agency Name: Idaho Department of Lands 

Rule Docket Number: 20-0305-2301 

IDAPA 20.03.05, Riverbed Mineral Leasing in Idaho 

1. What is the specific legal authority for this proposed rule? 

Statute Section (include direct link) Is the authority mandatory 
or discretionary? 

Idaho Code § 47-714 – Leases of Navigable Riverbeds Authorized Mandatory 
Idaho Code § 58-104(6) – State Land Board – Powers and Duties Discretionary 

2. Define the specific problem that the proposed rule is attempting to solve? Can the 
problem be addressed by non-regulatory measures? 

IDAPA 20.03.05 applies to the exploration and extraction of minerals from state-owned navigable 
waterways. By leasing exclusive rights to the waterways, customers may explore areas without 
competition. Revenue from leasing and royalties from extracted minerals benefits the endowment 
and the continued stewardship of public trust land. The proposed changes seek to comply with 
Executive Order 2020-01. 

3. How have other jurisdictions approached the problem this proposed rule intends to 
address? 

a. Is this proposed rule related to any existing federal law? 

Federal citation Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed 
Idaho rule more 
stringent? (if 
applicable) 

Section 10 of the Rivers 
and Harbors Appropriation 
Act of 1899 – U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers 
33 CFR Part 322 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-
2011-title33-vol3/pdf/CFR-2011-title33-
vol3-part322.pdf 
A $10 fee is charged for non-commercial 
activities and a $100 fee is charged for 
commercial or industrial activities. 

Idaho rule affects state-
owned navigable 
waterbodies. The 401 
certification is required in 
addition to state permits. 

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title47/T47CH7/SECT47-714/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title58/T58CH1/SECT58-104/
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2011-title33-vol3/pdf/CFR-2011-title33-vol3-part322.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2011-title33-vol3/pdf/CFR-2011-title33-vol3-part322.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2011-title33-vol3/pdf/CFR-2011-title33-vol3-part322.pdf
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36 CFR 228 https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-
36/chapter-II/part-228  
No application fees or annual fees are 
charged for a Plan of Operations, but 
annual fees of $165 are charged for each 
20-acre mining claim. Bonding is actual 
cost. Exploration is bonded.  

Application fees are $50 to 
$1,000. Annual fees are 
$435. If bonding is 
insufficient, then additional 
funds may be recovered 
from the operator after a 
default.  

43 CFR 3809 https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-
43/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-C/part-
3800/subpart-3809  
No application fees or annual fees are 
charged for a Plan of Operations, but 
annual fees of $165 are charged for each 
20-acre mining claim. Bonding is actual cost 
with ability to recover additional funds if 
needed. Exploration is bonded. 

Application fees are $50 to 
$1,000. Annual fees are 
$435. If bonding is 
insufficient, then additional 
funds may be recovered 
from the operator after a 
default.  

 

b. How does this proposed rule compare to other state laws? 

State Summary of Law (include direct link) How is the proposed 
Idaho rule more 
stringent? (if 
applicable) 

Washington Chapter 79.140 Aquatic Lands – Valuable Materials 
RCW 79.105.110: Who may purchase or lease—
Application—Fees. (wa.gov) Washington State 
Department of Natural Resources. New Permit fee 
application is $4500, assignments are $2500.  
 

N/A 

Oregon Chapter 141, Division 14, RULES FOR AUTHORIZING 
LEASES AND LICENSES FOR THE REMOVAL OR USE OF 
ROCK, SAND, GRAVEL AND SILT DERIVED FROM STATE-
OWNED SUBMERGED AND SUBMERSIBLE LAND 
Oregon Department of State Lands. Lease term is 10 years. 
Non-exclusive authorization is less than 3 years. 
Application fee is $750. Assignment fees are also $750. 
Lessees must pay a royalty fee determined by the 
department. Minimum annual rental is $20. 
 

N/A 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-36/chapter-II/part-228
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-36/chapter-II/part-228
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-43/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-C/part-3800/subpart-3809
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-43/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-C/part-3800/subpart-3809
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-43/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-C/part-3800/subpart-3809
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=79.140&full=true&pdf=true
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=79.105.110
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=79.105.110
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=326
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=326
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=326
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=326
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Nevada NRS 322.130 - Fee for permit for dredging or filling, 
construction or installation of certain structures. 
NAC: CHAPTER 519A - RECLAMATION OF LAND SUBJECT 
TO MINING OPERATIONS OR EXPLORATION PROJECTS 
(state.nv.us) 
NAC: CHAPTER 519A - RECLAMATION OF LAND SUBJECT 
TO MINING OPERATIONS OR EXPLORATION PROJECTS 
(state.nv.us) 
Nevada Division of Environmental Protection. Exploration 
permits application fees are $1.50 per acre on public land. 
Annual fees vary from $500 to $1500.  

Nevada application fees 
vary based on acreage, so 
smaller leases may have 
higher fees in Idaho.  

Utah Utah Code Title 65A, Chapter 6 – Mineral Leases 
Utah Office of Administrative Rules R652-20 Mineral 
Resources 
Utah Division of Forestry, Fire, and State Lands. Salts and 
other minerals in the waters of navigable lakes and 
streams are reserved to the state and may be sold by the 
division only upon a royalty basis. Rental is $1.10 per acre, 
application fee is $40. Assignments are $50. 
 

Idaho application and 
assignment fees are 
higher.  

Wyoming W.S. 36-6-101(b). Leasing of Metallic & Non-metallic Rocks 
& Minerals 
Wyoming Office of State Lands and Investments. Leases 
are for 10-year terms. Annual rental payments are $1 per 
acre for years 1-5, and $2 per acre for years 6-10.  Lease 
application fee is $50, assignment fee is $40. 

Idaho application and 
assignment fees are 
higher.  

Montana Title 77, Chapter 3 Section 102 Mining Leases Authorized 
77-1-1115. Navigable riverbed uses -- lease, license, or 
easement required -- challenges, MCA (mt.gov) 
Montana Department of Natural Resources and 
Conservation. Lease application is $50. Assignments are 
$25. Lease terms are set by the Board. 

Idaho application and 
assignment fees are 
higher.  

Alaska Sec. 38.05.250. Prospecting permits and leases on tide and 
submerged land 
Alaska Department of Natural Resources – Division of 
Mining, Land and Water. Prospecting permit term is 10 
years. Leases are for 20 years. Application fee is based on 
the number of acres for the requested area. Minimum 
$280-$600. 
 

Alaska application fee 
varies based on the size 
of the operation, so 
smaller leases may have 
higher fees in Idaho.  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-322.html#NRS322Sec1007
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-322.html#NRS322Sec1007
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-519A.html#NAC519ASec225
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-519A.html#NAC519ASec225
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-519A.html#NAC519ASec225
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-519A.html#NAC519ASec235
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-519A.html#NAC519ASec235
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-519A.html#NAC519ASec235
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title65A/Chapter6/65A-6-S1.html?v=C65A-6-S1_1800010118000101
https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R652-20/Current%20Rules?
https://wyoleg.gov/NXT/gateway.dll?f=templates&fn=default.htm
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1QAaWm2bf9Zvw5khb_nuwjeiqqjykElet/view
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1QAaWm2bf9Zvw5khb_nuwjeiqqjykElet/view
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0770/chapter_0030/part_0010/section_0020/0770-0030-0010-0020.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0770/chapter_0010/part_0110/section_0150/0770-0010-0110-0150.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0770/chapter_0010/part_0110/section_0150/0770-0010-0110-0150.html
https://dnr.alaska.gov/mlw/mining/pdf/Mining_Statute_and_Regulation_Book.pdf
https://dnr.alaska.gov/mlw/mining/pdf/Mining_Statute_and_Regulation_Book.pdf
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South 
Dakota 

Codified Law 5-2 | South Dakota Legislature 
(sdlegislature.gov) 
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2034073 
South Dakota Minerals and Mining Exploration - Mine 
Permits (sd.gov)  
South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural 
Resources – Small Scale Mine Permit Required. Permit is  
$100. Leases require a $50 annual fee. Leases are for a 5 
year period.   
 

Idaho application fee and 
annual rent is higher. 

 

c. If the Idaho proposed rule has a more stringent requirement than the federal 
government or the reviewed states, describe the evidence base or unique circumstances 
that justifies the enhanced requirement: 

The proposed mineral lease application fee of $425 and assignment fee of $200 for Idaho is higher 
than similar fees charged in a few of the other states. Funding for Idaho’s Navigable Waterways 
Program, however, is from a dedicated account. The proposed lease fees are needed to cover the 
costs of processing these lease transactions. Also, the term of the lease is up to 20 years so the 
application fee will not be paid as often as it is in other states. 

The proposed exploration location fee of $500 is typically lower than other states with similar 
permit requirements. The $75 lease publication fee matches the fee for other navigable waters 
program submerged land leasing publication fees. Other programs charge a similar fee for 
publication costs. 

The Idaho rule is overall less stringent than other comparable states. Other states typically require 
extensive environmental permitting.  

4. What evidence is there that the rule, as proposed, will solve the problem? 

Reduced word count will comply with Executive Order 2020-01. Navigable waterways have a 
management objective and trust responsibility different than state endowment lands, so these rules 
are needed to provide guidance in addition to Title 47, Chapter 7, Idaho Code. Increased application 
and assignment fees will cover Department costs associated with processing applications and 
permits. The current rule fees were established in 1991, and have not increased since that time.  

https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/5-2
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/5-2
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/2034073
https://danr.sd.gov/Environment/MineralsMining/Exploration/MinePermits.aspx
https://danr.sd.gov/Environment/MineralsMining/Exploration/MinePermits.aspx
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5. What is the anticipated impact of the proposed rule on various stakeholders? Include, 
how will you involve them in the negotiated rulemaking process? 

Category Potential Impact 
Fiscal impact to the state General 
Fund, any dedicated fund, or 
federal fund 
 

Increased fees will result in an estimated annual increase of 
$375 to the dedicated Navigable Waterways Public Trust 
Fund. No impacts to General or Federals funds are anticipated. 
 
 

Impact to Idaho businesses, with 
special consideration for small 
businesses 
 
 
 

Increased fees will result in an estimated annual increase of 
$375 and will allow IDL to cover the costs of administrative 
work on these leases. This will affect future lessees. All current 
lessees will be notified of the negotiated rulemaking, and 
public meetings will be held around the state. 

Impact to any local government 
in Idaho 

No impact to local government is anticipated. 

6. What cumulative regulatory volume does this proposed rule add? 

Category Impact 
Net change in word count -529 words 
Net change in restrictive word count -1 restrictive words 

 


