Official Government Website

Training Requirements

All Foresters and Equipment Operators companies are responsible for maintaining their own training records.

Once your training is complete, click and fill out the IDL – Industry Training Completion Memo on the right and email it to IDL at Anyone requesting to become certified must be sponsored by an Industry Contractor.

Once IDL receives your completion memo, your Qualification Card will be emailed to you.

Local contacts for in-person training can be found below.

Email all training questions to

Idaho Department of Lands Local Office Contacts

Priest Lake Supervisory Area Dave Thornton, Fire Warden
4053 Cavanaugh Bay Rd.
Coolin, ID 83821
(208) 443-2516

St. Joe Supervisory Area
Cory Flesher, Fire Warden
1806 Main Ave.
St. Maries, ID 83861
(208) 245-4551

Payette Lakes Supervisory Area Scott Corkill, Area Manager
555 Deinhard Ln.
McCall, ID 83638
(208) 634-7125

Pend Oreille Lake Supervisory Area
Brian Hicks, Fire Warden
2550 Highway 2 West
Sandpoint, ID 83864-7305
(208) 263-5104

Ponderosa Supervisory Area Chris Tretter, Area Manager
3130 Highway 3
Deary, ID 83823
(208) 877-1121

Southwest Supervisory Area
Casper Urbanek, Fire Warden
8355 W. State St.
Boise, ID 83714
(208) 334-3488

Kootenai Valley
Nate Rogers, Fire Warden
Forest Protective District
6327 Main St.
Bonners Ferry, ID 83805
(208) 267-5577

Clearwater Supervisory Area    Jay Sila, Area Manager
10230 Highway 12
Orofino, ID 83544
(208) 476-4587

Eastern Supervisory Area
Pat Brown, Area Manager
3563 Ririe Highway
Idaho Falls, ID 83401
(208) 525-7167

Mica Supervisory Area
Andrew Smyth, Area Manager
3258 W. Industrial Loop
Coeur d’Alene, ID 83815
(208) 769-1577

Maggie Creek Supervisory
Kevin Chaffee, Fire Warden
913 Third St.
Kamiah, ID 83536
(208) 935-2141

Jerome Field Office
(part of the Eastern Supervisory Area)
324 S. 417 E., Suite 2
Jerome, ID 83338
(208) 324-2561

Cataldo Forest Protective
Chris Myers, Fire Warden
80 Hilltop Overpass Rd.
Kingston, ID 83839
(208) 682-4611

Craig Mountain
Jeremiah Miller, Fire Warden
Forest Protective District
P.O. Box 68
014 E. Lorahama
Craigmont, ID 83523
(208) 924-5571

Clearwater-Potlatch Timber
Protective Association
Kane Steinbruecker, Chief Fire
10250 US-12, Orofino, ID 83544 (208) 476-5612

Southern Idaho Timber Protective Association
Paul Wagner, Chief Fire Warden 555 Dienhard Lane
McCall, ID 83638
(208) 634-2268

ver: 3.5.1a | last updated:
Jump back to top of page button